U: & ekke

Members of ensemble U: and ekke

U: and ekke is a trio that combine glitchy insect like analogue synth beats with pieces from some of the most important 20th century contemporary composers. U: and ekke has very unique instrumentation ranging from modular synthesiser, bass flute and theremin to some virtuoso C-sound programming and radios. That creates wide and unique palette of sounds. The group is interested in different musical worlds and in different listening situation and if there is any meeting point between these seemingly different disciplines.

The musicians of the project, two members of ensemble U:, most renowned contemporary music ensemble in Estonia - Taavi Kerikmäe and Tarmo Johannes - and sound artist Ekke Västrik come from different backgrounds.
Ekke Västrik is a sound designer, composer and improviser on a modular synthesizer, known under artist's name ekke. Taavi Kerikmäe (keyboard, theremin, electronics) works on the field of free improvisation, electroacoustic music, performing contemporary music, composing etc. He has performed on numerous contemporary music festivals working with such composers as Pierre Boulez, Tristan Murail, Vinko Globokar, Gilbert Amy, F.-B. Mâche, Alessandro Solbiatti, Helena Tulve and many others. Tarmo Johannes (flute, electronics) is not only an outstanding flutist, mostly dedicated to contemporary music, but has also remarkable skills in programming and sound synthesis. He is an active member of the C-sound community (C-sound – one of the major open source sound manipulation programs/languages) and currently the main developer of C-soundQt - the most widespread user interface of C-sound.

More info: www.uuu.ee